h1

Kittens – fourth week – perfect poos

9 August, 2006

I think you have to be a cat breeder or a copophragic to appreciate this post, but I thought I’d add it in because it’s something that is pertinent from a holistic cat care point-of-view.

I feed my cats mostly on a home-prepared raw diet, and one of the benefits of feeding raw food is that cat poo smells less.

Yes, it’s amazing, but you can smell the difference between when my Maine Coon girl who eats Felix kitten has been to the litter tray and when my Bengal who is almost 100% raw fed has left her offering.

With my Maine Coon girl it’s definitely a clothes-peg-on-the-nose jobbie, whereas you hardly notice the Bengal except for her judicious scraping.

(A cat owner on a raw food list I belong to says that her cat’s litter tray is in her study, just six feet away from her desk, and she doesn’t smell anything.)

With kittens, you feed exactly the same raw mix, except cut the chunks up smaller.

Today, I found some small brown rolls on their bedding. It was kitten poo. It was, in every way, a miniature version of adult cat poo. Firm, brown, a mere 1-cm long and almost odourless (and no – I didn’t put my nose to it!).

Now, if I was really obsessed with poo maybe I would preserve it, sort of in plastic, so that it resembles a fossil. Instead, all I’ve done is taken a photo of it which I will post once I work out how to do so.

Some breeders have reported that when they start weaning kittens on to solids, the kittens go through a period of the “squits”. I couldn’t believe that I wasn’t going to have to endure the same.

With last year’s litter, even though I fed raw, there were a few days of runny stuff, but it cleared up very quickly.

Some breeders also claim that kittens don’t take naturally to solid cat food.

I would say maybe that’s the case where commercial cat food is concerned but everyone who feeds raw says that kittens take to raw easily. It’s almost as though their instincts are still intact and their taste buds haven’t been ruined by strong-tasting commercial cat foods.

Today’s evidence only proves it. I hope it lasts.

Not all the kittens are eating solids. Squeaky, the smallest, still craves the sessions when I top her up with KMR commercial milk. Today she sank her teeth in the teat and wouldn’t let go when I tried to withdraw it.

Now here’s hoping the kittens learn to use the litter tray and not their bedding.  Last year I was washing and cleaning eight kitten litter trays twice a day – oh, the joys of cat breeding!

Oh, by the way, don’t read this post if you’re eating. (pix follows)

6 comments

  1. are you sure about that?


  2. Hi Janiie, thanks for your comment.

    Yes … truly. I have some photos if you want to see them – I couldn’t post them to the blog in case people got turned off. But the first poos from the
    kittens were firm and no squits at all. The squits happened when I had to transition from raw to commercial so that they could go to their new homes.
    Let me know if you want to see the “proof” so to speak, or discuss cat diets.

    The photos are on my work PC, so it won’t be until Tuesday when I can send them to you.

    Regards, Rona


  3. Dear Rona,
    I have come across your website in the hope of finding out why our kitten has not been a poo for a few days..we live on gran canaria,to cut a long story short we ended up with a ferrel cat. we gather she was 6days old. anyway with help from a wonderful lady who works for the protection of cats we now have a bouncing pouncing 4week old kitten!! We havestarted weaning her and no probs cos she loves her food, but concerned that we have not seen anything from the other end!1..any advice?..thankyou


  4. Hi Judy and Del,

    I think it’s wonderful that you’ve opened your hearts and home to a feral cat – it takes a lot of hard work and loving to take a kitten from just 6 days old to 4 weeks.

    And thank you for reading my blog. I hope I can help.

    OK – the first thing I will ask is: is your kitten in good health? By that I mean, has she got energy, is lively, is playing well, is eating and drinking normally? If any of the answers is “no” then please take the kitten to the vet because if the kitten has low energy, is listless, is not eating or drinking, chances are there is a medical reason for that. For e.g. there could be a blockage in the intestines.

    The next thing is: did you just change the kitten’s diet before the non-poo situation happened? Sometimes when you change their diets, their systems can’t cope automatically. I would then go back to the original diet before the situation happened. Or has the kitten been wandering around and eaten something it shouldn’t? (e.g. rubber bands get eaten by cats and they form a block in the intestines. Similarly with dental floss)

    Sometimes when you start weaning to solids, the poos don’t immediately appear. It takes a day or so before the solid stuff works its way through. If you think of it: if the kitten was used to milk and soft foods, and you suddenly switch to solids (which has less water), it’s a bit of a shock to the digestive system which has to work harder to cope with the change.

    Thirdly, what was her diet? Was it meat-based on carb-based? Cats do best on a meat diet as they are obligate carnivores, i.e. they must have meat to survive, unlike dogs who can eat veg and fruit. If you are feeding her kibble, then make sure she has plenty of water.

    Fourthly, is she drinking? The water will help her to pass out her poo. Cats get their water mainly from their food, which is why, if you feed kibble it is very important to have fresh water for the cat at all times.

    If she is healthy and has good energy, and is eating, there are a few things you can use to encourage her to poo. Stewed pumpkin mixed with her food is a good one. If you have any psyllium husks (a type of digestive supplement), a little mixed with her food will help. Psyllium husk needs water to work, so you should only mix it if the food is the wet-type. No use giving psyllium husk if it’s kibble you’re feeding her. I would go with pumpkin (if you can get it in Gran Canaria) or any type of squash – it has to be cooked though, not raw. Don’t give the kitten any human-type laxatives – they are poisonous to cats.

    Please let me know how your kitten does. I love all cats.


  5. O, well, I EAS CONCERNED TOO. THEN foun some behind the bed…


  6. […] Teresa Holladay article is brought to you using rss feeds.Kittens – fourth week – beautiful poosHere are some of the latest findings and news on holistic health care for dogs.I think you have to be a cat breeder or a copophragic to appreciate this post, but I thought I’d add it in because it’s something that is pertinent from a holistic cat care point-of-view. I feed my cats mostly on a home-prepared raw … […]



Leave a Reply

