h1

Why is she not calling?

9 March, 2008

The title says it all.  After calling like clockwork in the last weeks of December and January, and after I was determined to breed her the next call and had the stud cat lined up and raring to go, Ananda has decided to go on strike in February.

I’m not sure why this has happened.  A breeder friend said she would start calling again once the weather warmed up, but as she previously called in the depths of winter, I’m not sure if the weather was the cause for her hiatus.

Perhaps it’s the plant propagator tray that I let the cats use to warm themselves.  I’ve wrapped it in a pillow case and the cats love it, taking it in turns to toast themselves.  Perhaps the electro-magnetism in its electric currents have affected her inner cycles.  I don’t know.  Or maybe it’s the fact that I’ve been keeping the curtains drawn in the bedroom where the cats sleep – I have black-out curtains, so it gets very dark and womb-like.  Maybe having fewer hours of light is tricking her system into thinking it’s not time to call.  Or maybe she heard me moan and rant about her calling and spraying and has decided to give me a break.  Or maybe she’s just a typical cat and being unpredictable.  It’s just ironical really – when she was calling I couldn’t wait for her to stop, and now that she’s not calling I want her to be.

So I’m writing this because you know how it is:  you say something will not/does not happen, and next thing you know the Gods Giggle, and it manifests.

One comment

  1. […] of Maine Coon kittens, being a novice cat breeder and all things mostly related to cats « Why is she not calling? She’s calling! (phew) 15 March, 2008 Well, it looks like my last post […]



Leave a Reply

