h1

Secale – another remedy for the homeopathic birth kit

23 April, 2008

Last year, I posted on the homeopathic kit I’ve put together for the birth process.

The birth last year for my queen did not go as smoothly as with previously litters.  One of the kittens was very large and was born hours late, and sadly, dead.  I’d ignored the vet’s suggestion to use Oxytocin to strengthen her contractions and thought I’d let nature take its course, instead.  I tried 2 homeopathic remedies which had been recommended:  caulophyllum and cimicifuga.  Neither worked.

This year, at the Natural and Organic Products Europe show, Helios the homeopathic pharmacy was exhibiting, and one of their homeopaths was on the stand.  I took the opportunity to discuss what happened last year, and she had another suggestion, the remedy Secale.

According to the Helios own-guide to Homeopathy in Childbirth, “Secale … like Pulsatilla, intolerant of stuffy rooms, but emotionally more stupefied in labour, with much longer contractions.  If these stop, trembling may start.  Most often used to antidote ill-effects of Syntometrine, often routinely injected to speed up expulsion of placenta.  Can be used to encourage a retained placenta to be pushed out naturally if contractions are too weak.”Helios Homeopathy in Childbirth kit

Another suggestion was to use the remedies in a higher potency than 30C, in fact to use them in 200C potency because the birth process is a particularly intense experience.  This advice went against what I was taught about using the minimum dose, but I was open to anything that would help my cat.

I bought the Helios homeopathic kit for childbirth which contains 18 remedies for use before, during and after labour.  (Aconite, Arnica, Bellis per., Calendula, Carbo veg., Caulophyllum, Chamomilla, Cimicifuga, Gelsemium, Hypericum, Ipecac., kali carb., Kali phos., Phytolacca, Pulsatilla, Secale, Sepia, Staphisagria).  Some of the remedies I already have, but this kit had them in 200C potency.

I truly hope that I will not have to resort to any of the remedies to assist in labour, but it pays to be prepared.

Leave a Reply

